Stop Facebook from Bringing Up Your Bad Memories

Home  /  Blog  /  Stop Facebook from Bringing Up Your Bad Memories

June 2, 2017      Comments Off on Stop Facebook from Bringing Up Your Bad Memories

First launched in 2015 to select lucky (or unlucky) users, Facebook’s On This Day feature is a nostalgia machine. It shows you bittersweet memories to look back on from that day in your Facebook history. Memories include things like your posts and others’ posts you’re tagged in, major life events and when you became friends with someone on Facebook. And that includes things you’d rather not remember — if you can help it!

Opening Facebook and being hosed with a splash of bad nostalgia is certainly an aggravating experience — enough incentive for many users to stop checking the social media altogether. That’s why Facebook has introduced some filters to the tool, so you can block certain memories from your notifications.

Here’s how to do that. Log into Facebook from the web, and then find the “On This Day” entry under the Apps heading on the left as shown in this image below.

On the upper right side, you will see two buttons: Notifications and Preference. To turn off all notifications, click Notifications and then Off.

If you’d rather shut out certain people or dates that bring back bad memories, click Preferences and then use the Edit links to set up your filters.

Tips: You don’t have to be friends with someone to stop them from appearing in your notifications. Useful if you’re no longer friends with your ex!

If you’re ever regretting your decision (I highly doubt it!), you can open the app again and simply undo the changes you’ve made. That’s all there is to it — enjoy your “eternal” sunshine in Facebook land!

Comments are closed.